Basic Concept of Vedic Astrology

Maharishi Parashar is said to be the father of Indian Astrology or Vedic Astrology.

The ancient rishis had gained a thorough knowledge of this science of all sciences through constant observation and experiments.

They observed that the planets represent every trait, quality, character, thing, idea etc. to whatever field it may relate, to physical universe or to the emotions of human beings or intellectual manifestations and could clearly see a strong connection.

Any person, thing or idea that is born in this universe, is born along with the qualities, good bad or indifferent, of the nature as it existed at that moment of time.

In simple terms, Astrology is a divine science of logical enquiry into an individual’s life, from birth to death, based on the possible relative positionings of 9 planets in 12 signs, 27 nakshatras and 12 houses.

Working Principle of Astrology

Behind every scientific law or theory or formula, there inevitably has to be some strong basis or working principle.

Astrology is called “the science of all sciences”. There definitely has to be some great theory or some universal logic behind such a divine scientific setup.

After 20 years of my experience and research, I have concluded that “There are events in the time domain that are FIXED”. “They are ALREADY THERE”.

If that was not true, then this science could not have existed even for a single day !

What does it really mean? Every event in an individual’s life is fixed ! I am not sure. All I have formulated is that definitely there are events that are fixed and only then there exists the possibility and opportunity to predict or interprete them well in advance.

On the contrary, is there free will which allows to change the future course of events ? I am not sure. In this whole time domain which seems equivalent to an endless dream, who knows if what we think of as free will might actually be the instrument in causing the future fixed event ! For me, free will is a conscious belief to live this life with complete faith and enthusiasm that I am causing my actions for a purpose, and nothing more.

For the time being, to dive into this vast ocean of jyotish or hindu astrology, you need to remember that “EVENTS ARE FIXED” and it is possible to predict or interprete them with constant study, observation and research.

And I will guide you through these topics and one day you shall be able to create the possibility to interprete these FIXED EVENTS for real and get mesmerised by this amazing science.


Nine Planets, Hindi Names and Time taken to transit a sign (approx.)

Sun – Surya – 1 month

Moon – Chandra – 2.5 days

Mars – Mangal – 1.5 months

Mercury – Buddh – 14 days to 1 month

Jupiter – Brihaspati (Guru) – 1 year

Venus – Shukra – 23 days to 2 months

Saturn – Shani – 2.5 years

Dragon’s Head – Rahu – 1.5 years

Dragon’s Tail – Ketu – 1.5 years

Ask answer

    I have read and agree to the Terms & Conditions

    Explore More